Alaska Drunk Driving Defense Attorney
Mat-Su Valley, Alaska DUI Lawyer
Criminal Defense | Personal Injury | Premises Liability
If you have been charged with DUI in Alaska, it is important to obtain the representation of an experienced drunk driving defense attorney to ensure a good outcome for your case.
At The Law Office of Chadwick McGrady, P.C., they will go to court on your behalf, and will make certain that you know and understand exactly what is transpiring with your DUI case. At The Law Office of Chadwick McGrady, P.C. they charge you a flat fee to assist you in your DUI case.
What if I'm Convicted of Drunk Driving?
A DUI conviction carries the following mandatory minimums:
- First conviction: 3 days in jail, 90 day OL suspension, $1,500 fine
- Second conviction: 20 days in jail, 1 year OL suspension, $3,000 fine
- Third conviction (not a felony): 60 days in jail, 3 year OL suspension, $4,000 fine
- Third conviction (felony): 120 days in jail, permanent loss of OL, $10,000 fine
What is This "Notice and Order of Revocation" From the Alaska DMV That the Police Officer Gave Me When I was Pulled Over for the DUI?
Essentially, there are two cases filed against you. One is with the Criminal Justice Department; the other is with the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). In Alaska, if you test above 0.08 on the Breathalyzer, or you refuse to test for DUI, you have seven days from the date you are arrested for DUI to ask in writing (by mail or by fax) for an administrative review of your case with the Division of Motor Vehicles. If you fail to do so, your license will be suspended. An attorney can help you through this process and may even be able to help you keep your license until your review date. Please feel free to call for further explanation.
How Can an Attorney Help Me?
Attorney Chad McGrady can evaluate the report filed by the police officer for any legal problems and for any violations of your constitutional rights.
Should I Just Plead "Nolo Contendere"? After All, I Did Have a BAC (Blood Alcohol Concentration) Over .08, the Legal Limit.
In most cases it makes sense to offer a not guilty plea, even if you are not sure.
A nolo contendere (“no contest”) plea means that you neither admit nor dispute the charges against you. However, your insurance company, the jail time you receive, the stigma that you must live with and the loss of your clean driving record do not distinguish between this and a guilty plea. You need a lawyer who focuses on drunk driving defense, one who is fully prepared to go to trial and defend your interests.
Call (907) 746-0588, toll free (866) 919-2134, or e-mail The Law Office of Chadwick McGrady, P.C. for your drunk driving defense — phones answered 24/7.